SA English Writers – Thomas Pringle 10c – Cushion cover only


SKU: SA Writers 10c Category:


In 1984 the South African Post Office depicted english SA Writers on stamps which we have collected for you so that you can own an original stamp together with the limited edition cushions that we have printed from these stamps.

10c Thomas Pringle (1789 – 1834) emigrated to SA from Scotland in 1820. An anti-slavery article, written in South Africa led to his being appointed Secretary of the Anti-Slavery Society, working towards bringing an end to slavery in the British dominions. The legislation came into effect in August 1838.

20c Pauline Smith (1882-1959) grew up in the Little Karoo and died in England. She published 2 works for which she’s best known: the story collection The Little Karoo (1925), and the novel The Beadle (1926)

25c Olive Schreiner (1855 – 1920) was an anti-war campaigner and intellectual. She is best remembered today for her novel The Story of an African Farm highly acclaimed for the bold manner in which it deals with some of the burning issues of the day.

40c Sir Percy Fitzpatrick (1862 – 1931) A knighted South African author, politician, mining financier and pioneer of the fruit industry. He authored the classic children’s book, Jock of the Bushveld(1907)

The cushions are sewn by mothers from struggling areas in the Helderberg basin.

Through heART At Work® we endeavor to empower Mothers in township communities within the Helderberg Basin to fulfill their intrinsic value as providers and care givers to their children.

Additional information

Weight .200 kg
Dimensions 500 x 500 x 10 mm
Show Buttons
Hide Buttons